The Disaster Assistance Improvement Program’s (DAIP) mission is to provide disaster survivors with information, support, services, and a means to access and apply for disaster assistance through joint data-sharing efforts between federal, tribal, state, local, and private sector partners.


On August 29, 2006, President George W. Bush issued Executive Order 13411. DAIP was created in response to this order. Our goal is to improve survivor access to disaster information and make applying for disaster assistance easier. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), under the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), acts as the managing partner.

On December 31, 2008, DAIP launched a website called DisasterAssistance.gov. The site allows you to:

The site also provides resources to help you learn how to prepare for, respond to, and recover from disasters.

You can learn how to handle immediate needs, like how to:

  • Evacuate or shelter in place.
  • Find emergency shelter.
  • Get food and water.
  • Handle emergency medical situations until help arrives.
  • Find family, friends, and even lost pets.

You can even read the latest disaster news feeds, find other recovery help, and learn how to move forward.


DAIP is an E-Government program. Through DisasterAssistance.gov, we can help the government provide you with web-based technologies that can:

  • Streamline access to services.
  • Make it easy for you to interact with the government.
  • Allow the government to be more efficient, effective, and responsive.
Last Updated: 07/28/2021